Day Three: Are you a Disciplined Believer?

Grace and Peace be unto you, from God our Father and from the LORD Jesus Christ. Beloved, I wish you all Shalom. I am writing to you from Nazareth on my way back to Jerusalem by way of Jericho. Today, January 9th, 2019, we are on day three of our journey of fasting and praying. Congratulations, you are doing well! This is a year that God has anointed you to live. You are anointed to do this. Let’s look at the text for this week:

Prov. 1:1 These are the proverbs of Solomon, David’s son, king of Israel.
Prov. 1:2 Their purpose is to teach people wisdom and discipline, to help them understand the insights of the wise.
Prov. 1:3 Their purpose is to teach people to live disciplined and successful lives, to help them do what is right, just, and fair.
Prov. 1:4 These proverbs will give insight to the simple, knowledge and discernment to the young.

In the New Living Translation, the verse is rendered “Their purpose is to teach people wisdom and discipline,” this is the first clause of verse two (2). In the King James Authorized it is rendered as:
Prov. 1:2 To know wisdom and instruction; to perceive the words of understanding;

The word instruction in the King James version, instruction is translated as discipline in the New Living Translation. The word used in the Hebrew is the word מוֹסֵר   mosēr, it actually means; chains, shackles, fetters. Instruction will allow one to self impose shackles based on what they have learned. When I was a child I was instructed to cross the street when there was a green light because that helped me to understand when it might be safe to cross the street. I was also instructed not to allow the green light to be my only gage for safety. I was instructed to look both ways when I cross the street. Not to do so could mean life-threatening injuries that I could avoid if I followed instruction. As a result, I restrain myself when crossing the street to make sure I am safe. This is what the New Living Translation calls discipline.
Discipline keeps us safe and it is self-imposed. What chains do we put on ourselves to prevent ourselves from preventable harm? Eating well and working out is a discipline. Studying is a discipline that allows us to obtain and retain information that helps us to make our future better. God is calling us to discipline and instruction that informs that discipline. Again, the two should go together. What I mean is that uninformed discipline, discipline without instruction is just a bad habit or bad behavior. I want to be disciplined in my walk with God. I will place shackles on my own behavior if it means a better life in Christ.
What’s the alternative?

Prov. 20:13 If you love sleep, you will end in poverty. Keep your eyes open, and there will be plenty to eat!

An undisciplined life is a life not worth living. It leads to poverty and poverty is not what we are called to be as believers. Are you a disciplined believer? What can you do, Today to be disciplined, the way God wants you to be disciplined? Could you start your day with set-aside time for prayer? Do you have a devotional you could start reading today as a disciplined believer? How about in your family? Do you get to work on time so that you are not threatening your job and by extension, threatening your family’s well being? Are you a disciplined churchgoer? Do you take the Bible seriously enough to do what it says?
I want to be a disciplined believer, how about you?

Please, take the time to subscribe to this blog. This way, you can receive notice of this blog when posted. It is my intention this year to post weekly. Consider subscribing, I believe it will bless you.

Remember beloved, drink all the water you can drink and take one bowl of Soup after 3PM. I pray this blog was an encouragement to you. Please, plan now to bring someone to church with you this week. This is part of what we are called to do. This too is wisdom. If you are not a member of a church, you need a place to run as if every step matters, come to In His Presence Family Worship Center at 1673 Dean Street, Brooklyn NY, every Sunday at 8 AM and every Wednesday at 7:30 PM. Some of the best people in the world are there and we would love to have you as our guest.
If you would like to sow into this word, please obey what God is saying and give. Go to this link, http://ihpfwc.org/online-giving.html you can give by downloading our ‘Givelify’ app and going to In His Presence Worship Center. This gives you a one-step option. Honor the LORD with your substance. Proverbs 3:9
Also, new this year, download the IHP app. Go to where you obtain your apps, Google Play for Androids or the App store for iPhones and look for In His Presence FWC. Download the app and stay connected.

Yours Because I am His,
Leo Colon
www.ihpfwc.org
pastor@ihpfwc.org
888.640.5550

Leave a comment